Music Director & Conductor Laureate

The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra was formed in 1965 by a merger of Radio Orchestra and Radio Television’s orchestra. The orchestra changed its name several times during its lifetime, of which the ”TV Orchestra”, which was introduced in 1964, became the last. The following year, in part, at the initiative of Romanian conductor Sergiu Celibidache, it was collaborated with the Radio Orchestra to a symphony orchestra with more than 100 musicians.

In March 1967 the orchestra finally got the name it carries still today, the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Music Director

Daniel Harding 2007-
Manfred Honeck 2000-2006
Jevgenij Svetlanov 1996-1999
Esa-Pekka Salonen 1984-1995
Herbert Blomstedt 1977-1982
Sergiu Celibidache 1962-1971

Conductor Laureate

Esa-Pekka Salonen
Valery Gergiev
Herbert Blomstedt
Carlo Maria Giulini(1914 – 2005)