Alva Holm in Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto

Alva Holm, winner of the 2022 Soloist Prize, plays Dmitri Shostakovich’s first violin concerto with the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra and young Finnish conductor Tarmo Peltokoski, who also leads the orchestra in Ralph Vaughan Williams’ sixth symphony. Two works composed at around the same time, but under entirely different circumstances.

Stay for the bonus concert Thursday January 11, beginning shortly after the regular programme, featuring Max Bruch’s delightfully romantic and spirited string octet!

The concert will be broadcasted live in the Swedish Radio P2 on Friday, February 2 at 7:03 pm.


dot 2023/2024





The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra is a multiple-award-winning ensemble renowned for its high artistic standard and stylistic breadth, as well as collaborations with the world’s finest composers, conductors, and soloists. It regularly tours all over Europe and the world and has an extensive and acclaimed recording catalogue.

Daniel Harding has been Music Director of the SRSO since 2007, and since 2019 also its Artistic Director. His tenure will last throughout the 2024/2025 season. Two of the orchestra’s former chief conductors, Herbert Blomstedt and Esa-Pekka Salonen, have since been named Conductors Laureate, and continue to perform regularly with the orchestra.

The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra performs at Berwaldhallen, concert hall of the Swedish Radio, and is a cornerstone of Swedish public service broadcasting. Its concerts are heard weekly on the Swedish classical radio P2 and regularly on national public television SVT. Several concerts are also streamed on-demand on Berwaldhallen Play and broadcast globally through the EBU.

Approximate duration: 1 hr 20 mins

Stay and enjoy this bonus concert which begins shortly after the original programme. Max Bruch’s rarely performed string octet is unfairly overlooked, according to those who know it. Take the opportunity to acquaint yourself with this elegant concert piece performed here by string players from the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Karin Eriksson, violin
Per Sporrong, violin
Hanna Göran, violin
Lachlan O’Donnell, violin
Ingegerd Kierkegaard, viola
Diana Crafoord, viola
Magnus Lanning, cello
Benjamin Ziaï, double bass

MAX BRUCH: String Octet, 25 min
I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio
III. Allegro molto