The question is whether any other composer has written a greater number of captivating tunes than Tchaikovsky? In the ballet Nutcracker the hits are following one after the other: Waltz of the Flowers and Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy. Then follows a musical suite from the Russian-British composer Elena Langer’s opera Figaro Gets a Divorces, a freestanding sequel to Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro. The concert is presented under the baton of rising star Anna Rakitina, assistant conductor of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.





The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra is known worldwide as one of Europe’s most versatile orchestras with an exciting and varied repertoire and a constant striving to break new ground The multi-award-winning orchestra has been praised for its exceptional, wide-ranging musicianship as well as collaborations with the world’s foremost composers, conductors and soloists.

Permanent home of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra since 1979 is Berwaldhallen, the Swedish Radio’s concert hall. In addition to the audience in the hall, the orchestra reaches many many listeners on the radio and the web and through it´s partnership with EBU. Several concerts are also broadcast and streamed on Berwaldhallen Play and with Swedish Television, offering the audience more opportunities to come as close as possible to one of the world’s top orchestras.

“The orchestra has a unique combination of humility, sensibility and musical imagination”, says Daniel Harding, Music Director of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra since 2007. “I have never had a concert with the orchestra where they haven’t played as though their lives depended on it!”

The first radio orchestra was founded in 1925, the same year that the Swedish Radio Service began its broadcasts. The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra received its current name in 1967. Through the years, the orchestra has had several distinguished Music Directors. Two of them, Herbert Blomstedt and Esa-Pekka Salonen, have since been appointed Conductors Laureate.


Born in Moscow to a Ukrainian father and a Russian mother, Anna Rakitina grew up in a musical family and began her education as a violinist before she studied conducting at Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory in the class of Stanislav Diachenko. From 2016 to 2018 she studied conducting in Hamburg with Prof. Ulrich Windfuhr and graduated with a diploma. She was finalist of ‘Das kritische Orchester’ in Berlin in 2018, participated in the conducting fellowship scheme of the Lucerne Festival Academy led by Alan Gilbert and Bernard Haitink, and attended masterclasses with Gennadiy Rozhdestvensky, Vladimir Jurowski and Johannes Schlaefli. In 2022, she participated in the Ammodo conducting masterclass of the Concertgebouworkest led by Fabio Luisi.

Following a series of highly acclaimed appearances with orchestras such as Chicago Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic and Boston Symphony Orchestra in the 2021/22 season, Anna Rakitina established herself firmly as one of the most exciting and sought-after conductors of the new generation. Rakitina remains assistant conductor of the Boston Symphony Orchestra (BSO) under its Music Director Andris Nelsons until summer 2023. She is only the second woman in the orchestra’s history to be awarded this position. With the Nutcracker suite, Rakitina makes her debut with the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Apporoximate concert length: 1 hour (no intermission)

We have the pleasure of inviting you to a chamber music recital after the concert on December Thursday 1. You are most welcome to stay, the performance will begin after a brief interval.
Tchaikovsky’s String Sextet in D Minor is a vibrant tribute to Florence, the composer’s favourite city.
The bonus concert is included in the ticket price for the concert on December 1 at 18:00.

Iskandar Komilov violin
Lachlan O’Donnell violin
Tony Bauer viola
Diana Crafoord viola
Magnus Lanning cello
Peter Volpert cello

PJOTR TJAKJOVSKIJ: String sextet in D minor ”Souvenir de Florence”

Judging from the light touch, the normally anxious Piotr Tchaikovsky had pleasant memories from the time he spent in Florence. He composed the string sextet in D Minor – which he named “Souvenir de Florence”– after his return to St Petersburg. He wrote to his patron, Nadezhda von Meck, that he composed the energetic, danceable four movements with elements of folk music “with the greatest enthusiasm and with the least exertion”.

Approximate concert length: 45 min (no intermission)